Berkshelf v2 Outage and Intermittent Supermarket Unresponsiveness – Public Postmortem Meeting

Earlier today, we made Supermarket the official community site and the source of http://api.berkshelf.com. About 30 minutes after the transition to the new site was complete we started to get a few reports of issues with Berkshelf v2.x reporting errors. Additionally, about two hours after the transition was complete, we started to see an increase in 5xx errors from the backends, intermittent latency, and overall unresponsiveness from the site.

At Chef, we conduct postmortem meetings for outages and issues with the site and services. Since Supermarket belongs to the community, and we are developing the application in the open, we would like to invite you, the community, to listen in or participate in public postmortem meetings for these outages.

Berkshelf v2 Outage Postmortem

When: July 8th, 2014 14:00–14:55 PDT (2014–07–08 21:00–21:55 UTC)
Where: Google Hangout link to be provided 5 minutes prior to the meeting via @cwebber and @chef, as well as in #chef and #berkshelf on irc.freenode.net

Supermarket Intermittent Unresponsiveness Postmortem

When: July 8th, 2014 15:00–15:55 PDT (2014–07–08 22:00–22:55 UTC)
Where: Google Hangout link to be provided 5 minutes prior to the meeting via @cwebber and @chef, as well as in #chef and #berkshelf on irc.freenode.net

Author Christopher Webber